Until It Breaks – Chapter 18

No Idea

“Seriously. How could Richards turn into even more of a dick after the first day of class?”, Eva wondered out loud she sat down at lunch with Valerie.

The two of them had been spending every lunch together after Prof. Richards class. Valerie couldn’t help but to start liking Eva. She was friendly, funny and confident. She hadn’t asked her about Ethan and didn’t plan to. If Eva didn’t know who she was it would do no good to remind her. Or maybe Ethan hadn’t told Eva about her at all?

“I have no idea. He reminds me of our old neighbor in Windenburg. Complaining all day like it was a sport”, Valerie finally answered Eva’s question. Eva perked up.
“You’re from Windenburg? Why didn’t you tell me?”
“You never asked”, Valerie was confused.
“What was it like?”, Eva askedd.

“Old. Seriously the city is ancient. At least they did build a modern bay district so that brought some more activities. The pool was pretty cool, I guess.”
“The pool?! Who cares?! What about parties?”
Valerie shrugged. She wasn’t the party type. “There were some new nightclubs in the bay district, people told me they were good.”
Eva raised an eyebrow. “You’ve never been?”
“I don’t party well.”
“Everyone can party. I’ll teach you”, Eva grinned. Valerie laughed at her crazy suggestion.

“I doubt that. I’m fine with the dorm parties, but clubs aren’t for me. Speaking of dorm parties… are you ever gonna tell me about what happened there?”
Eva avoided her gaze. “Don’t know what you mean.”
“You know, like this weird Liam-Eva-Staredown?”, Valerie rolled her eyes. It was obvious that these two had some sort of history. She hadn’t had a chance to speak to Liam since the party and Eva hadn’t let anything slip so far.
“I mean I didn’t ask Liam, but-”
“Geeze, just let it go!”, Eva burst out angrily, “Liam here, Liam there, it’s making me sick!”

Valerie sat speechless for a few seconds, shocked at Eva’s sudden anger. She always seemed so calm with a I-don’t-care-what-you-think attitude. This was different.
“Sorry, I didn’t mean to set you off”, Valerie apologized. Eva sighed.
“No, I’m sorry. I’m overreacting. Might as well tell you what’s up before you find out from someone else.”
She shifted uncomfortably opening her mouth a few times then closing it again as if she didn’t know where to start.
“So Liam…?”, Valerie encouraged her.
“Yeah, Liam. We kinda used to be friends. Best friends, more like”, Eva started hesitantly.
“What happened?”

“I’m not sure. I got together with my boyfriend and I think he’s jealous. We got into a huge fight soon after, he accused me of only hanging out with my boyfriend and not him anymore, all that jazz…”
Valerie stiffened at the mention of Eva’s boyfriend. She’s talking about Ethan. But that doesn’t make sense. Why should I stay away from him just because he has a crush on her?
“And?”, Valerie pried sensing there was more to this story. Eva’s face darkened.
“Turns out he’s some sort of psychopath. He started following me around and telling all kinds of stupid stories about me to the other guys at school. I moved away because people started to bully me.”
Valerie couldn’t believe what she was hearing. Liam Fitzgerald, a bully? He didn’t look the type. She felt anger rise within her. Liam had pretended to be Mr. nice guy while he spreading nasty rumors about Eva. And she had been friends with him.
“I’m so sorry, I had no idea”, she finally said to the other girl. Eva shook her head.
“How could you. I don’t blame you for being friends with him, he seems nice when you meet him. I’m just telling you to be careful. He’s not what he seems to be.”
Valerie nodded. The wish to confront Liam formed in her mind. She started imaging the conversation in her head and knew that she had to do it. Not only to get some justice for Eva but also for herself.

Next: Chapter 19

9 thoughts on “Until It Breaks – Chapter 18

Leave a Reply

