Until It Breaks – Chapter 2

Back for Good

“You look great! I mean..,you’ve uhm…changed a lot, I didn’t recognize you”, Valerie shuffled her feet uncomfortably
“Yeah, I have. Got rid of all that baby fat, didn’t I? Though, with the hair, I didn’t recognize you either”, Jenny said and an awkward silence ensued.

“I can’t believe you’re back!”, she suddenly burst out and wrapped her arms around Valerie. She smiled broadly as she let go and looked at Valerie expectantly.
“How are you, I mean… what was up with you, why did you leave… why did you come back. Oh my god, I still can’t believe this, I have so many -”
“Jenny!”, Valerie started laughing at Jenny’s outburst, “Breathe. Just for a second.”
Jenny’s shoulders slumped slightly and she sighed.

“You’re right, sorry. You know I keep on babbling and babbling when I’m excited. I’m just happy to see you again, you -”
“Jenny, you’re doing it again”, Valerie grinned. There was a second of silence where they both just stared at each other. Then they both burst out laughing.
“Just like old times”, Jenny exclaimed and Valerie nodded.
“It’s almost like I never left, isn’t it?”
Jenny’s smile faltered. Valerie huffed realizing she had completely ruined the happy mood they had been in.

“Sorry. I was… I’m sorry”, she said in a failed attempt at an explanation. “But hey, I’m back now. That counts for something ,right?”
“You’ve been gone for 5 years, Val”, Jenny simply stated and Valerie knew that tone. Things were about to get ugly.
“You know that we left because of my dad’s work. It wasn’t exactly my plan.”
Valerie’s cautious words didn’t work. Suddenly, Jenny just started spilling everything.
“You could have called! You could have kept in touch! Wrote a letter, anything. Someday, I come to your house and you’re just… UGH”, she yelled and stomped her foot.

“Look, I’m sorry”, Valerie tried to apologize, “You know I’m not good at this social stuff. And I was 13 years old, for crying out loud!”
“What, so this is my fault now? You were my best friend, Val. My only friend… I’ve missed you. “
Valerie sighed.
“I’m sorry, Jen, I really am”, Valerie stared at her feet but then looked up. “We’re not children anymore, but we can be friends again. Or at least try? I’m back for good, I promise!”

Jenny wiped her eyes on her sleeve, then nodded.
“You’re right. I’m sorry, I overreacted. I mean, we were kids. It’s not like you had a choice”, Jenny attempted a smile. “But hey, you’re still coming to the party, aren’t you? A lot has changed, really. I’d really like to catch up. And for you to meet some people.”
“Yeah, I’m still coming, catching up is much needed. Who are some people?”, Valerie raised an eyebrow.

“You’ll see”, Jenny said mysteriously, the smile back on her face.

Next: Chapter 3

25 thoughts on “Until It Breaks – Chapter 2

  1. Oh, kids don’t keep in touch at that age (and often, grown upsdon’t either). I remember falling out of touch with my best primary school friend just because we went to different schoolsin the same town afterwards…

    Something tells me Jenny might be holding a grudge, though.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jenny sure is a curious person who talks a thousand words a minute huh? lol

    I actually felt bad for Jenny in this chapter, it is so hard when your best friend moves away and especially if all contact is completely cut off.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hmm… I wonder who the people at the party will be and what this awful secret is that Valerie will discover. I can sympathize with Valerie. I’ve moved a lot in my lifetime and it’s hard to keep up with people, even best friends. I lost touch with a few best friends and it’s a sad thing, but it’s difficult to keep things up when you live so far away from each other and there isn’t a physical reminder. Long distance friendships definitely take a intentional commitment, so I hope that Jenny won’t hold it over Valerie’s head.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oooh so it begins! Jenny, you’ve got to calm down!! I’m loving the dynamic you’ve got going with them, I’m hoping for some flashbacks of their time apart to see what they were up to apart from each other!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I feel for Jenny. I know how hard it is to lose best friend as a child. My bf moved to another town when I was eight. I was trying to keep in touch via letters but the replies stopped coming. I was so sad. I take friendships very seriously. Jenny has every right to feel betrayed.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ooh this is such an intriguing story! I really love stories that go back and forth in time and this one will definitely be having a ton of flashbacks, I can already tell! 😍
    This is going to be so much fun! Can’t wait for the next update!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Loving this so far. Kind of a random question for you: have you ever played Life is Strange? There’s a couple similarities, which I thought were really funny, though the personalities of the characters seem completely different.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. The plot thickens. Bwahahaha…
    Anyway…
    I had a feeling they were friends before she moved. I’m looking forward to seeing if they remain friends. A lot can happen in 5 years…personalities change, they outgrow things they had in common.
    I hope Valerie will be okay if things don’t work out 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well this is only the beginning of the happenings ^^ we’ll see if they can catch up again. But maybe valerie will find new friends? Thanks for reading anyway

      Like

Leave a Reply

